UC Santa Barbara Alumni Association Annual Meeting Minutes
Saturday, June 8, 2013, Faculty Club

1) Call Meeting to Order
President Richard Breaux, ’67, called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

2) Minutes of the Previous Meeting
The minutes of the meeting of June 2, 2012, as published in the Summer 2012 online issue of Coastlines, were approved.

3) President’s Report
President Breaux reported on milestones of the 2012-2013 year – focusing on philanthropy, advocacy, service, and engagement, the pillars of our mission. The Alumni Association moved to activate more alumni in philanthropy through the Founders Circle, Alumni Scholarship Fund and other vehicles. Passage of Proposition 30 in Fall 2012 underscored the success of the Association’s efforts in advocacy. President Breaux recognized the work and efforts of Executive Director George Thurlow, ’73, Associate Director John Lofthus, ’10, and the Association staff.

4) Treasurer’s Report
Secretary-Treasurer Kim Schizas, ’77, reported the alumni association was projected to end the 2012-2013 fiscal year with a balanced budget, and projected in the proposed budget to end the 2013-2014 year with a deficit of approximately $134,500. As of April 30, 2013, the investments in the UC General Endowment Pool have a market value of $4.7 million.

5) Executive Director’s Report
Associate Director Lofthus distributed the Executive Director’s written report with details about the current fiscal situation, All Gaucho Reunion, Mosher Alumni House, Philanthropy, and Programs. “Increased revenues from the campus as well as our enterprise operations have helped the Alumni office maintain a robust program of engagement.”

6) Election of Directors
The membership elected four board members to second three-year terms:
Mark French, ’72
Justin Morgan, ’07
Rich St. Clair, ’66
Wenonah Valentine, ’77

The membership elected five board members to first three-year terms:
Ralph Garcia, ’83
Marisa Yeager, ’95
Mary Moslander, ’88
Debi Kinney, ’97
Jorge Cabrera, ’02

7) Presentation of Alumni Legacy Scholarships
Rich St. Clair, ’66, chairperson of the Alumni and Student Awards Committee, presented Alumni Legacy Scholarships to Kelsey DeSchryver, Sociology and Feminist Studies, ’14, and Alina Werth, Economics with Environmental Studies, ’14.

8) Adjournment
President Breaux adjourned the meeting at 1:28 p.m.

Justin Morgan, Secretary-Treasurer
Orange, Calif.